What are the types of CMOS technologies?

What are the types of CMOS technologies?

Ans. The CMOS (complementary metal oxide semiconductor) technology is recognized as the leading VLSI system technology. CMOS provides an inherently low power static circuit technology which is capable to provide a lower power-delay product than comparable design-rule bipolar, NMOS, or GaAs technologies.

The four main CMOS technologies are as follows –

  • N-well process
  • P-well process
  • Twin-tub process
  • Silicon on insulator.

Furthermore, by adding bipolar transistors a range of BICMOS processes are possible. Fig.5.2 show the drawing conventions.


Share this post